Strategy enriched by diverse perspectives

Vizient™ is governed by a 22-member Board of Directors that includes executives and clinicians from academic medical centers, community hospitals and independent organizations across the nation.

This diversity enables the board to provide counsel on the strategic direction of the organization and decisions that affect our financial performance and return to members. The directors also serve on various board committees.

We follow recommendations of the National Association of Corporate Directors and invest in developing board members' knowledge of their corporate responsibilities so they are well-equipped to serve on behalf of the membership.

Vizient Board of Directors

  • David P. Blom

    President and Chief Executive Officer, OhioHealth, Columbus, Ohio (CHAIR)

  • Carl S. Armato

    President and Chief Executive Officer, Novant Health, Inc., Charlotte, N.C.

  • Timothy Babineau, MD

    President and Chief Executive Officer, Lifespan, Providence, R.I.

  • Jeffrey W. Bolton Jeffrey W. Bolton

    Vice President, Administration and Chief Administrative Officer, Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn.

  • Marna Borgstrom Marna Borgstrom

    Chief Executive Officer, Yale New Haven Hospital and Yale New Haven Health System, New Haven, Conn.

  • Michael Butler

    President of Operations and Services, Providence Health & Services, Seattle, Wash.

  • Julian L. Carr, Jr.

    Partner and Senior Executive Advisor, Beecken Petty O'Keefe & Company, St. Louis, Mo.

  • Patrick E. Fry

    Retired President and Chief Executive Officer, Sutter Health, Sacramento, Calif.

  • John B. Grotting

    Operating Partner, Frazier Healthcare P.E., Rancho Santa Fe, Calif.

  • Catherine Jaconson Catherine Jacobson

    President and Chief Executive Officer, Froedtert Health, Milwaukee, Wis.

  • Howard P. Kern Howard P. Kern

    President and Chief Executive Officer, Sentara Healthcare, Norfolk, Va.

  • Bruce Lawrence

    President and Chief Executive Officer, INTEGRIS Health, Oklahoma City, Okla.

  • Richard J. Liekweg

    President, BJC HealthCare, St. Louis, Mo.

  • Ralph W. Muller

    Chief Executive Officer, University of Pennsylvania Health System, Philadelphia, Pa.

  • Curt Nonomaque

    President and Chief Executive Officer

  • Bob Page

    President and Chief Executive Officer, The University of Kansas Hospital, Kansas City, Kan.

  • C.A. "Lance" Piccolo

    President and Chief Executive Officer, HealthPic, Lincolnshire, Ill.

  • Ann Madden Rice Ann Madden Rice

    Chief Executive Officer, UC Davis Medical Center, Sacramento, Calif. (VICE CHAIR)

  • Kevin W. Sowers, MSN, RN, FAAN

    President and Chief Executive Officer, Duke University Hospital, Durham, N.C.

  • Johese Spisso Johnese Spisso

    President of UCLA Health, Chief Executive Officer of UCLA Hospital System and Associate Vice Chancellor of UCLA Health Sciences, Los Angeles, Calif.

  • Dan Wolterman

    Immediate Past President and Chief Executive Officer, Memorial Hermann Health System, Houston, Texas

  • Carol J. Zierhoffer

    Senior Vice President and Global Chief Information Officer, Bechtel Corporation, Reston, Va.

Board committees

All 2016-2017 board members are appointed by the chairman to serve on one of seven board committees:

Executive Committee
At all times when the board is not in session, the Executive Committee is authorized to exercise the full power and authority of the Board of Directors in the management of the affairs, business and property of the company.

Compensation Committee
The Compensation Committee assists the board in carrying out its responsibilities with respect to executive compensation and various qualified and non-qualified benefit plans.

Audit & Compliance Committee
The Audit & Compliance Committee assists the board in fulfilling its oversight responsibility relating to the legal compliance and ethics programs as established by the board and management.

Data & Analytics Committee
The Data & Analytics Committee shall have and exercise the powers of the board with respect to the oversight of the operations of Vizient.

Finance Committee
The Finance Committee assists the board in fulfilling its oversight responsibility relating to the company's financial responsibilities.

Innovation Committee
The Innovation Committee shall assist the board in developing processes and strategic plans for innovation and research with respect to the business of the company.

Nominating Committee
The Nominating Committee shall be responsible for nominating individuals for election to the board by the company's stockholders.

Learn more about each committee charter

Integrity is our most valued asset

How Vizient conducts business reflects on our employees, customers, suppliers and members. That is why even as a privately held company, we hold ourselves accountable to many of the same governance and regulatory standards applied to publicly traded companies by the Securities and Exchange Commission.We comply with major provisions of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act, including the internal control review required in Section 404. Voluntary compliance is consistent with our efforts to increase transparency to our members and other stakeholders.Vizient's commitment to compliance by all employees is an essential component of our core business practices and is critical to the success of our mission. To this end, we have a comprehensive Business Conduct, Compliance and Ethics Program, including the following elements: